About Me

This page is in drastic need of an update - I'll get there - or go read about me here 

Well I guess if you're on this page then you're looking to find out more about me. What do you want to know?
I can start with the basics:

My names Stephanie, 27 years old and hail from the wonderful bubble that is Greendale Wisconsin.  I went to college at the University of Wisconsin - La Crosse where I graduated with a double major in Finance and Economics.  During the second semester of my Sophomore year I decided it was time to leave the country and so I spent a semester studying at Maquarie University in North Ryde Australia - just outside of Sydney.   I knew studying abroad was something I always wanted to do, what I didn't know is that during this trip I would be infected with the travel bug.  After coming home I was soon planning my next trip.   Junior year I was part of an Alternative Spring Break, service trip to Jamaica - one of the best experiences of my life and taught me that I wanted to combine travel and service and incorporate those things into the rest of my life.  The next year I jumped at the chance to visit one of my friends while studying in the Netherlands.  My first (and so far, only) trip to Europe - don't worry i'll be going back soon.

After graduation I was offered a safe, secure, stable (any more boring words you can think of?) job with Northwestern Mutual.  It was an opportunity that I could not pass up, especially given the fact that the company has a great reputation and my family and friends told me I would have been crazy if I did not accept it.  After a year of working there I knew that something had to change, I didn't want to turn into a lifer and 40 years down the line be telling the recent college grad how I started back in 2011.

And so here I am - living, teaching, working and exploring the great country, people, sights, sounds and tastes of South Korea.  I'm living just outside Gumi teaching at a co-ed, public high school.  Every day is an adventure, from figuring out how to take the bus, go grocery shopping, getting a haircut and even using those damn old school pit toilets.  Please read my blog, check out my pictures and leave any comments or questions you may have.

To be completely honest I have no idea where i'll be one year from now, but i'm completely okay with that.  I've been told to "do it while i'm young" so i'm going to take that advice and run with it.

No comments:

Post a Comment